Surabaya is known as city of heroes. Many historical and heritage buildings and sites are situated in this city. Based on field and literature survey, there are nine areas that can be categorized as heritage areas based on their characteristics. These areas have their own specific heritage values that are not similar one to another. However, the importance of each area and the valuable meaning to the society are required to be explored and analyzed through theoretical and empirical review. Moreover, the typology of each heritage area must be explored from the society in viewing the region. It is a kind of community behavior that becomes a basic consideration in the development of historical areas. From nine historical areas that have been observed and analyzed, it is determined that only five historical areas that have specific characteristic. Those areas are Ampel as a typology of religious region, Tunjungan as a typology of tourism and trade, Tugu Pahlawan as monumental area offices, Jembatan Merah as a regional center for trade and history, and Bubutan as a trade zone and special interests. In principle, the areas are expected to become heritage products that can grow in socio-cultural and economic sustainability.

Original languageEnglish
Pages (from-to)1621-1626
Number of pages6
JournalJournal of Applied Sciences Research
Issue number11
Publication statusPublished - Nov 2011


  • Conservation
  • Heritage area
  • Public behavior
  • Typology


Dive into the research topics of 'Determination of potential heritage area based on typology in surabaya'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this